envelope graphic E-mail page  

leaf

Our Team

At the University of Chicago Medicine Comer Children's Hospital, our certified child life specialists have extensive training in child development and can provide effective, appropriate support to meet the needs of your youngster or teen.

Child life specialist Amy Carter with boy

Our staff members have master's and bachelor's degrees in child development, child life and family-centered care, or related fields. These specialists work throughout the hospital and the emergency department, offering support for children and families to help them cope with injuries and illnesses.

Our team also includes caring volunteers and child life interns who are dedicated to making your child's hospital experience as comfortable as possible. They are sensitive to the social and emotional needs of your child and family, and aim to make your experience as positive as possible.

Jennie Ott, MS, CCLS -- Director, Child Life
jennie.ott@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child life and family centered care, Wheelock College, Boston, MA
  • BA in psychology, Le Moyne College, Syracuse, NY

Amy Carter, MS, CCLS -- Lead Child Life Specialist
amy.carter@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child life and family centered care, Wheelock College, Boston, MA
  • BA in psychology with a child development concentration, Quinnipiac College, Hamden, CT

Aimee Karas, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist II
aimee.karas@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BA in psychology, minor in art history, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY

Tracy Lau-Esquibel, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist II
tracy.lau-esquibel@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in biology, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL


Ashlee Burgess, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
ashlee.burgess@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in Child Life and Family Centered Care, Wheelock College, Boston, MA
  • BS in Human Development with a focus in Psychology, minors in child health and music, Wheelock College, Boston, MA

Alyssa Friedberg, M.Ed., CLS -- Child Life Specialist I
alyssa.friedberg@uchospitals.edu
Child Life Specialist

  • M.Ed. in Youth Development, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago IL
  • B.A. in Journalism, Indiana University, Bloomington IN


Jessica Greaney, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
jessica.greaney@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development with child life specialization, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in business administration, marketing concentration, Aquinas College, Grand Rapids, MI


Katrina Hall, MA, CLS -- Child Life Specialist I
 
katrina.hall@uchospitals.edu
              
Child Life Specialist

  • MA in Child Life Specialist, The University of Akron, Akron, OH
  • BA in Integrated Strategic Communications, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY


Amy Heinz, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
amy.heinz@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in applied health science-human development/family studies, minor in psychology and sociology, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

Jennifer Kim, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
jennifer.kim@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development with child life specialization, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in Early Childhood Education (Type 04 Professional Educator License with Early Childhood Special Education Approval), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL


Amy LeMay, BS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
amy.lemay@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • BS in Leisure Studies: Child Life, University of Iowa, Iowa City

Catherine Ney, MS, CLS -- Child Life Specialist I
catherine.ney@uchospitals.edu
Child Life Specialist

  • MS in child development with child life specialization, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in Psychology, Iowa State University, Ames, IA


Beth Sherwood, MS, CCLS -- Child Life Specialist I
beth.sherwood@uchospitals.edu

  • Certified Child Life specialist
  • MS in child development, Erikson Institute, Chicago, IL
  • BS in art therapy, minor in psychology, Edgewood College, Madison, WI


Erica Luciano, BS, Child Life Assistant
erica.luciano@uchospitals.edu

  • BS in Family & Consumer Sciences: Human Development & Family Resources, Illinois State University


Yasuko Yoshihara, MA ATR, LCPC -- Art Therapist
yasuko.yoshihara@uchospitals.edu

  • Registered art therapist
  • MA in art therapy, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, IL
  • BA in textile design, Tokyo Zokei Art University, Tokyo, Japan



MyChart | CareLink | Notice of Privacy Practices | Financial Assistance | Legal Disclaimer | JCAHO Public Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The University of Chicago Medicine Comer Children's Hospital  |   5721 S. Maryland Avenue   |   Chicago, IL 60637